top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

Noch keine Tags.

First encounter with Queens- NYC

Dear Diary,

well I am back in town. After three years. But this time not as a tourist, this time as a short-term inhabitant of NYC. Still can't believe it. The first days and still now I feel like a second me put the first me into a suitcase and took me to the USA.

I walked along the 5th avenue where the central park is in order to visit the Guggenheim Museum and invented a little life story for every supposedly rich person passing by. Then I thought maybe they do the same and maybe everyone on this street is thinking of all the others they live here but actually no person living in this street would walk along it.

By the way, i found the perfect way to not get bothered by all the tourist attraction people in Manhattan. Just carry a Yoga Mat with you around (which I only did because I bought one) and no one will talk to you about hop on hop off busses.

I found my favourite Coffee Shop again - Triple Shot World Atlas (last picture). The longest name ever for a coffee shop but this place has the nicest atmosphere and the best snacks I found so far in Brooklyn.

On one wall there is a huge world map and you just feel like you are somewhere in south america when you're sitting there. The picture on top shows the restaurant Juliette, also in Brooklyn. I just took a picture in order to remind me to go there soooon :)

I live in Queens this time. Before I signed the contract for my room I put in Google "Queens safe?" and what I found was:

"If you are scared of a Greek Grandma, punching you with her bag, then nope, it is not safe"

- I signed the contract immediately.

And it is true, Queens Astoria is a Greek area. In my street small town houses with USA flags, flowers and two sitting chairs (for grandma and granddad) are next to each other.

Yesterday a very old lady with an traditional Thai costume went past me and smiled at me. I was about to follow her in order to find more of her kind. In this city former foreign communities tend to stick together.

Love. C.

Stay in touch through Social Media

Instagram: spencerstravelblog

Twitter: Spencerstb

Facebook: Spencerstravelblog

Snapchat: Spencerstb

bottom of page